Szechuan Fusion

6 Jun

To know me is easy. I pretty much fall into every category of Asian stereotypes that you can think of—I’m a small guy, most time I’m serious, I’m literally and metaphorically an Asian driver, I occasionally don’t speak proper English and of course, I got A in my statistics class in college.

Like most Asians, I’m passionate about Asian food. Bloody Japanese raw fish, greasy Chinese stir fried, super spicy Thai chili and sour Korean Kim Chi are all my favorites. As a Chinese, I’m also brave enough to eat many things that people in this country are so afraid to eat. Things like chicken claws, intestines and pig’s kidneys. I need to tell you those things are actually pretty delicious if they were prepared and cooked properly.

However, this blog is not about me teaching you how to cook chicken claws or how to cut pig’s kidneys. This is a place where I talk about how my everyday life of working in New York City and living in New Jersey inspires the way I cook and the way I look at this world.

I named this blog Szechuan Fusion because I was born and raised in Sichuan province in China. The flavors of Sichuan cuisine is in my blood. When I first came to this country, I realized “Sichuan” was spelled as Szechuan here and Szechuan style was far different from the authentic Sichuan style. But after living in different regions of China and spending a fairly long period of time of my life traveling or living or studying in more than 17 countries, I suddenly realized my Sichuan style is no longer authentic either. Then I decided to use “Szechuan” instead of “Sichuan” in the name of my blog.

As my Szechuan style losses its authenticity, it’s then legitimate to invite the ingredients from other parts of the world in my dishes. The marriage of the international flavors has not only brought so much fun but also changed my diet and my perception of the world. This is when “fusion” comes to my blog’s name.

By now, I hope you have already had an idea of what this blog is about. If not, I feel sorry for being such a bad writer, but let me point it out for you as a good chef:

Szechuan Fusion is an Asian guy’s kitchen diary. It talks about his favorite recipes, his very Asian-style life and his weird or smart thoughts about this crazy world.

Enjoy my blog and my food. Bon appetite!

3 Responses to “Szechuan Fusion”

  1. christine June 7, 2010 at 12:05 am #

    omgeee

  2. bingchun June 7, 2010 at 8:06 am #

    what a nice idea! i once heard this two michelin-star chef making the comments on a bbc cook show: “very few people can actually do fusion style well”. but i have high hopes for you. 🙂

  3. David Spira June 7, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    Great first post Steven. I’m looking forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

