Raining day ramen

23 Aug

Could there be anything better than having a hot savory Japanese ramen soup for dinner on this wet windy chilly day in New York City? Yes, the answer is Italian noodle served in hot Japanese miso seafood soup.

After the ridiculously hot and humid July–it is reported that this July is the second hottest July in the City since the country started keeping the weather data–the temperature finally starts to drop. Though it is raining and windy and even a bit chilly, this Monday has been quite pleasant, at least, I think so. My appetite always gets better on a day like this. Perhaps because the weather reminds me of where I’m originally from–In Szechuan, the cold and wet weather inspired the well-known Hot Pot.

Craving for some hot soup, I opened my freezer and found 3 scallops, a few shrimps and Chinese bamboo shoots. I had chicken stock in my kitchen’s cabinet and as an Asian, of course I always had some fresh scallion, ginger roots and Japanese miso paste.

Then there came the big questions: “where is the noodle?”

I had some dried Chinese noodle but I know that would not work at all–Chinese noodle never survives if it gets cooked for too long. It would definitely melt down in the hot miso soup, which I couldn’t even picture the catastrophic scene in my brain.

When I was struggling whether I should abandon the Japanese noodle soup idea and try something easier, I saw the noodle soup hero–a box of spaghetti that was right next to the Chinese noodle as if it was waving at me and saying “pick me! pick me!”

“That’s it!”

Spaghetti is similar to Japanese noodle or ramen in the way that it’s very durable and can keep its firm texture even if cooked for a long time. But the difference is obvious–because the texture of spaghetti is much more denser than that of ramen, it’s hard to absorb the flavor and the juice from the soup.

However, I was so hungry. I had to start my quick cooking.

Making soup was easy–boiled the chicken stock, added a couple spoons of miso paste, put everything in the pot. In the meantime, I was cooking the spaghetti in another pot. Once everything was ready, I drained the spaghetti and put it in the miso seafood soup. Before serving, I put some chopped scallion. Right at the second when the scallion touched the hot soup, the traditional Asian flavor immediately jumped out of the bowl. I know I succeeded.

As the magically delicious soup was raised to my mouth, I savored the salty taste and the seafood flavor as the hot liquid rolled down my throat. That was the taste of heaven in this chilly New York evening.

One Response to “Raining day ramen”

  1. Jerry P August 24, 2010 at 12:39 am #

    what a smart idea! I am getting hungry just by reading it.

Leave a Reply

