A not so healthy brunch

24 Oct

As much as we try to keep a healthy diet, we need to admit there are just those days we simply can’t resist the temptation to eat things we know are good for our palate but bad for our health. Today is apparently one of those days.

Having said that, the recipe is definitely NOT diabetes or heart health-friendly.

So this morning, I really felt like having some pancake and bacon. Suddenly, I remembered the pancake I had two weeks ago in Montpelier, Vermont. It was a restaurant called “Skinny Pancake” right in the downtown of Montpelier. I had the best bacon pancake there (I’ll write another post about the trip to VT). This morning I decided to create my own bacon pancake recipe:

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 slices of American Yellow cheese
  • 2 tea spoons of flour
  • salt & sugar
  • 3 strips of bacon
  • diced mushrooms
  • strawberries

The making of the pancake was quite easy–just like how you make pancake all the time. The only extra thing I did was to cook the bacon in advance and cut it into small pieces. Then I blended the bacon with the batter. And what made the pancake not so healthy but extremely yum was that I saved all the bacon fat let in the skillet I used earlier to cook the pancake. On the flip side, I didn’t waste anything!

So here are some photos. Looking good? Tasted even better!

A hearty Sundy brunch

Can you see the bacon? So good!

4 Responses to “A not so healthy brunch”

  1. Eve October 26, 2010 at 4:17 am #

    That looks delish!

  2. zdoggmd October 27, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    Mmmmmmm…bacon!

    • stevenshie October 27, 2010 at 10:02 am #

      Excited to see you here Dr.Z!!!

Leave a Reply

